Four accused sentenced for penitentiary for the tenure of 6 – 32 months in Spot-Fixing scandal
1 Comments - 04 Nov 2011
A London court has handed out jail terms to the three players and their agent found guilty in the spot-fixing case, drawing the curtains on one of cricket's most sordid and shameful sagas. Salman Butt, the former Pakistan captain, has been sentenced to two years and six months; Mohammad Asif has got a one-year jail sentence and his fellow fast bo...

More Link
Spot fixing! Jury scrutinized all phone calls and video tapes
0 Comments - 06 Oct 2011
The alleged spot-fixing trial, involving Pakistan cricketers Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif at Southwark Crown Court, has entered another operative phase with the first witness, the ICC's chief investigator Ravi Sawani, being called. Before this the jury was shown video footage of the now infamous no-balls during the Lord's Test last year and also...

More Link
Jonathan Trott was titled with the Cricketer of the Year 2011
0 Comments - 13 Sep 2011
Jonathan Trott, the England batsman, has been named the Cricketer of the Year for 2011, the ICC's top accolade. He received the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy at the annual ceremony in London, after his team-mate Alastair Cook had won the Test Cricketer of the Year award. "It's fantastic to be part of a successful team and I never envisaged winning ...

More Link

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Smith satisfied with 2.5m rule

Graeme Smith
Graeme Smith had also joined in the 2.5m clause debate in Umpire Decision Review System (UDRS) as he said that he was aware of the rule and understood it. Smith faced two instances in the match between South Africa and Netherlands in Mohali.
Netherland player Bas Zuiderent was given out lbw to Robin Peterson in the 22nd over of Netherlands' innings. Zuiderent was struck low on the front foot and was given out by Asoka da Silva. He did not review the conclusion but replays showed the impact was 2.5 meters from the stumps. The second incident was when Imran Tahir dismissed Berend Westdijk, who was the last wicket to fall. The on-field umpire ruled that Westdijk was out but the batsman called for a review. Replays showed that the point of impact on Westdijk's pad was 2.5 metres from the stumps as well. Zuiderent's result was not reviewed and Westdijk's decision was not changed because the on-field umpire had initially ruled that he was out.
According to the ICC's manual for the review system, if an "out" decision is reviewed, in order to prove that "the ball is missing the stumps; the evidence of the technology should show that no part of the ball would have made contact with any part of the stumps or bails." In the South Africa v Netherlands match, the 2.5m rule would have helped both batsmen had they been ruled not out and the fielding side had reviewed the decision, as was the case with Ian Bell against India.
Smith said, "He is fine with it because it was communicated to us and I understood it well". The 2.5m rule exists because that is the distance that experts have recognized at which the precision of Hawkeye begins to fade, leaving room for the on-field umpire's discretion to be used.

No comments:

Post a Comment