Monday, March 21, 2011

Asoka de Silva will not officiate for quarter-finals

Umpire Asoka de Silva
ICC dropped Asoka de Silva again for quarter-finals as he will not officiate in any coming quarter-finals, his future in the elite panel of umpires is in serious jeopardy. Asoka de Silva was not even given a position for fourth official in any four games. He was the only one of the 12 members of the ICC's elite panel who has been eliminated.

Five umpires from the back-up group of ICC International Panel have been rewarded with quarter-final jobs including third-umpire officiating for Richard Kettleborough and Kumar Dharmasena. Asad Rauf was the only man who was not assigned an on-field or TV responsibility, but he will be the reserve umpire for the Australia and India fixture.

Asoka de Silva had a poor tournament and criticized for the wrong decisions when he gave Ireland's Gary Wilson LBW against West Indies. The decision was challenged by Wilson and replays clear illustrated the ball struck his pad outside off stump while he was playing a shot, but de Silva did not upend his decision.

De Silva was consequently detached from tasks in the key matches between England-West Indies and India-West Indies games and instead he was assigned roles in matches involving the Associates.

1st Quarter-Final:

23rd March:    Pakistan v West Indies, Mirpur

On field umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand) and Steve Davis (Australia)

TV umpire: Daryl Harper (Australia)

Reserve umpire: Bruce Oxenford (Australia)

2nd Quarter-Final:

24th March:    India v Australia, Ahmadabad

On field umpires: Marais Erasmus (South Africa) and Ian Gould (England)

TV umpire: Richard Kettleborough (England)

Reserve umpire: Asad Rauf (Pakistan)

3rd Quarter-Final:

25th March:    South Africa v New Zealand, Mirpur

On field umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and Rod Tucker (Australia)

TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

Reserve umpire: Nigel Llong (England)

4th Quarter-Final:

26th March:    Sri Lanka v England, Colombo

On field umpires: Billy Doctrove (West Indies) and Simon Taufel (Australia)

TV umpire: Tony Hill (New Zealand)

Reserve umpire: Shavir Tarapore (India)

No comments:

Post a Comment